Jury & Awards
Every year ISFF - together with a few of our closest partners - awards films from our festival for their scientific, narrative and visual strengths.
Festival Jury
Pakinam Amer
Pakinam Amer is the chief editor of Nature Middle East, the regional edition of Nature magazine. During her journalism career, she has worked for wire and online media including the Associated Press, the German Press Agency, Egypt Today, and Business Today. Before becoming a science journalist, Pakinam reported on current affairs, politics, and conflict in Egypt and the Arab world. She also produced and hosted the Middle East's first science podcast in English.
Erin Esplelie
Filmmaker & Writer

Erin Espelie is a filmmaker and writer whose poetic nonfiction films have shown at the New York Film Festival, Edinburgh International Film Festival, Whitechapel Gallery in London, Full Frame Documentary Film Festival, Imagine Science Film Festival, and more. She is co-director of NEST (Nature, Environment, Science & Technology) Studio for the Arts at the University of Colorado Boulder and serves as editor in chief of Natural History magazine.
Barbara Visser
Artist & Filmmaker
Barbara Visser is a Dutch artist, who works as conceptual artist, photographer, video artist, and performance artist.
Symbiosis Jury
Claude Desplan
Claude Desplan is a biologist promoting regularly science communication and initiatives at the insection of biology and art. His research centers on understanding the development and functioning of the visual system that underlies color vision using the fruit fly Drosophila as a model organ
Bianca Marlin Jones

Bianca Jones Marlin is an American neuroscientist and Simons Society Junior Fellow working at the Zuckerman Institute at Columbia University in New York City. Marlin currently studies the epigenetic mechanisms that enable trauma to be passed trans-generationally.
Ozge Calafato
Programmer & Curator
Özge Calafato focuses on the relationship between vernacular photography, gender, memory and cultural identity.. From 1999 to 2007, she worked as a writer and editor for the Geniş Açı Photography Magazine in Istanbul.Erin Espelie is a filmmaker, writer and editor who explores the intersections of the arts and the sciences, alongside the materiality of digital and analog image-making.
Festival Awards
Scientific Merit Award
The Scientific Merit Award is given by the jury to the film that exemplifies science in storytelling and narrative filmmaking in a compelling, credible and inspiring manner.

WINNER & Runner-Up Announced on October 23, 2020
Scientist Award
The Scientist Award is given by the jury to a film that portrays in an accurate and inventive way the life of a scientist. The goal of this award is to encourage more scientists to create films that let us into their minds, labs, and lifestyle.

WINNER & Runner-Up Announced on October 23, 2020
Visual Science Award
The Visual Science Award is given by the jury to the film that best depicts science in a visually-engaging manner.

WINNER & Runner-Up Announced on October 23, 2020
Made on