Jury Announced for the 10th Imagine Science Film Festival!
We are thrilled to announce the jury members of our 10th anniversary festival - science writer Carl Zimmer, chemist and nobel laureate Martin Chalfie, producer/director Wendy Ettinger, and visual artist and filmmaker Barbara Visser - these individuals represent an incredible breadth of knowledge spanning science to filmmaking and the many realms that lie in between.
Martin Chalfie
Martin Chalfie is the corecipient, with Osamu Shimomura and Roger Y. Tsien, of the 2008 Nobel Prize for Chemistry. Chalfie received a Ph.D. in neurobiology from Harvard Universityin 1977. In 1982 he became a professor of biological sciences at Columbia University in New York, where he did the research that led to his Nobel honour. He became a member of the National Academy of Sciences in 2004. Chalfie and his corecipients were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2008 for their work in the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein (GFP), a naturally occurring substance in the jellyfish Aequorea victoria that is used as a tool to make visible the actions of certain cells. Their work with GFP opened a vast set of opportunities for studying biological processes at the molecular level.

Carl Zimmer
Carl Zimmer is a columnist for the New York Times, where his "Matter" column appears each week. In addition he writes for magazines such as National Geographic, Wired and Discover and is the author of a dozen books. He is a fellow at Yale University's Morse College. In 2016, Zimmer won the Stephen Jay Gould Prize, awarded annually by the Society for the Study of Evolution to recognize individuals whose sustained efforts have advanced public understanding of evolutionary science. Additionally, Zimmer has earned awards from the National Academies and the American Association for the Advancement of Science for his science writing.
Wendy Ettinger
An award-winning producer and director, Wendy Ettinger co-founded Chicken & Egg Pictures in 2005 which has awarded $5.4 million in grants and thousands of hours of mentorship to over 250 women nonfiction filmmakers over the past ten years. In 2013 she co-founded Gamechanger Films, the first equity fund dedicated to financing feature films directed by women. With Gamechanger she was Executive Producer of such films as Land Ho, directed by Aaran Katz and Martha Stephens(Sony Pictures) and the Invitation by Karyn Kusama. As a producer, Eye of God (Sundance Film Festival) and Hotel Gramercy Park (Tribeca Film Festival), and The War Room, the Academy Award®-nominated documentary directed by Chris Hegedus and D.A. Pennebaker. An ardent activist Wendy believes in the power of change through media, education, and the arts. She serves on the Board of The Educational Foundation of America, The 52nd Street Project and Imagine Science Films.
Barbara Visser
In addition to being a visual artist and filmmaker, Barbara Visser is the interim Artistic Director of the International Documentary Filmfestival Amsterdam (IDFA). Visser has participated in the Bienal de Sao Paulo, Brazil (2006), Manifesta, Trento, Italy (2008), Architecture Biennale, Dutch Pavillion, Venice, Italy (2010), Art Biennale, Dutch Pavillion group show (2011). In 2011 and 12 she's written and directed the film C.K. (2012). Awards for her work include the Dutch Cultural Media Fund Documentary Award (2010), the dr. A. H. Heineken Award for art and science (2008) , David Roell Prize 2007 from the Prins Bernhard Foundation (2007). Since 2014 she is appointed as a member of the Royal Dutch Academy of Arts. Barbara Visser is represented by Annet Gelink Gallery in Amsterdam.

The Imagine Science Film Festival jury chooses the winners of the Science/AAAS Scientist Award, the Scientific Merit Award, and the Nautilus Visual Science Award. Announcement of these awards will be made at our Hybrid Identity Closing Night at Caveat, where we will also be screening the six Symbiosis Competition films and treated to live performances and discussion. Please join us!
Made on